2016 International Mining Technology Hall of Fame nominations

The shortlisting committee has completed its deliberations over the nominations submitted for the 2016 inductions into the International Mining Technology Hall of Fame nominations. Sadly, there were no suitable nominations in the metallurgy category. The shortlisted nominations are soon to be sent to the panel of judges around the world and the nominees chosen for induction will be announced in October. Nominations are now open for the 2017 inductions. Hatch is this year’s industry associate sponsor.

2 nominations: Bulk Handling 

Dick Stahura (belt conveyor cleaning)

Rainer Kahrger (large belt conveyor systems)

4 nominations: Comminution (Sponsored by Gekko Systems)

Klas-Göran Eriksson and Tage Möller (Metso Megaliner)

Manfred Freissle (first modular synthetic screen deck system and co-founder of Polydeck Screen Corp)

Washington Samuel Tyler (Tyler screens and founder of Haver & Boecker Canada)

Joe Pease and Dr Bill Johnson (IsaMill)

4 nominations: Concentration

Barry Carlson (heap leaching and its processes)

Olivier Guyot (advanced control for mineral processing optimisation)

D.R. ‘Nag’ Nagaraj (innovative achievements in the design, development and commercialisation of numerous families of novel flotation reagents)

Robert ‘Bob’ Moorhead (inventive cyclone designs)

3 nominations: Environmental Management and Stewardship

Dr John Groom (heavily involved in this field since 1991, through the International Council on Mining and Metals (ICMM) and its predecessor organisation ICME)

Raglan Mine and TUGLIQ Energy teams (Raglan Mine wind turbine & energy storage project)

Elk Valley Water Quality Team (an innovative, area-based approach to managing water quality)

3 nominations: Exploration

Douglas W. Oldenburg (for his work in electromagnetic geophysics, and development of the UBC Geophysical Inversion Facility)

James Duncan Crone (pioneering Canadian mining geophysicist, explorationist and entrepreneur)

Greg Owens and Damien Blyth (INTERCEPT® Mineral Preservation System)

3 nominations: Mining software

Dr Terry Wiles (developer of Map3d Software, a fully integrated 3D layout (CAD), visualisation (GIS) and stability analysis package (BEM elasto‐plastic numerical modelling stress analysis)

MineStar development team (revolutionised mining machine control and guidance)

Paul Higgins (helped move the mining industry from a machine repair culture in the 1980s to a modern Asset Wellness™ approach)

2 nominations: Outstanding Innovator

Dr Greg Baiden (a pioneer in mining robotics and automation)

Rick Howes, (transformational contribution to new and innovative thinking on how the entire mining asset lifecycle is managed)

4 nominations: Safety (Sponsored by FLSmidth)

Andy O’Brien and Andy Cecala (several new innovations including the dust booth and the helmet cam)

Ryan Wynch (developer of Hydralert, a monitoring device to check miners are not suffering dehydration)

Dr Daniel Bongers (inventor of the SmartCap, a wearable fatigue monitoring technology that reads an individual’s EEG to determine their level of alertness)

Murray Johns (Optalert: real-time operator alertness monitoring system)

4 nominations: Surface Mining

Andrew Jessett (automated draglines move one step closer to reality)

Dr Shahram Tafazoli (President and CEO of Motion Metrics International)

Ken Lane (optimising cutoff grades)

Deane Tunaley and Stuart Thomson (developing a significantly higher energy bulk explosive)

3 nominations: Underground Mine Development

Professor Charlie Li (inventor of the D-Bolt, an innovative rock bolt)

Morris Medd (over 45 years of mine contracting and development)

Dr. Peter K Kaiser (Founding Director of the Rio Tinto Centre for Underground Mine Construction)

3 nominations: Underground Mine Production

Bob Lipic (Founder, President and CEO of Mining Technologies International (MTI))

Dale Elphinstone (an innovator in underground loading and hauling)

Hermann Paus (Founder of underground mining machine supplier Hermann Paus Maschinenfabrik)