Best innovators in mineral exploration

We will be closing the nominations for the International Mining Technology Hall of Fame in August. Do you wish to nominate someone who has contributed in an outstanding way to technology development in exploration or efficiency, safety, productivity, that discipline? Contact [email protected] about nominations.

The chosen nominees will be inducted at the International Mining Technology Hall of Fame gala dinner at the Hyatt Regency at Colorado Convention Center, Denver on February 25, 2019. The dinner is a key event in the SME Annual Conference week.

There are two current nominations shortlisted in this Exploration category. The first is for the team behind the development of Megatem (pictured) and the second is for Kevin Rebenius, Dr Mikael Bergqvist and Tue Beijer for Geocore X10: / The nominations committee has also suggested that the developer(s) of Leapfrog 3D, and MMI geochemistry would all be worthy of nomination, should anyone wish to nominate them. There are of course many other worthy candidates – let us hear from you.

The last inductee was Duncan Crone, a pioneering Canadian mining geophysicist, explorationist and entrepreneur. He was a very innovative, practical-minded geophysicist who made numerous important contributions to the advancement of mining geophysics and to mineral exploration discoveries during his long career.

There is a total of 12 categories and nominations are welcomed for all of them: Bulk Handling, Concentration, Comminution, Exploration, Environmental Management and Stewardship, Metallurgy, Mining Software, Safety (sponsored by FLSmidth), Surface Mining, Underground Development, Underground Production and Outstanding Innovator.